awards-630Here are some awards I’ve won. From left to right: Christopher Award for Wild Girls, Philip K. Dick Award for Points of Departure, Nebula for Rachel in Love, Seiun Award for There and Back Again, World Fantasy Award for Bones, Nebula for The Falling Woman, and Theodore Sturgeon Award for Raquel in Love. The World Fantasy Award, a bust of H.P. Lovecraft, wears a batter’s helmet in the spring and summer and a Santa hat in the fall and winter. Nothing like a well-dressed award to put a smile on my face.

Awards for Fiction: Winning Works

The Wild Girls (novel, Viking, 2007)

  • Winner of the Christopher Award in the category of “Books for Young People”
  • Winner of the Book of the Year Award in Children’s Literature (presented by the Northern California Independent Booksellers Association)
  • Selected as one of thirty 2008 Notable Children’s Book in the Language Arts
  • Recommended by the Amelia Bloomer Project (a list of feminist works selected by a task force of the American Library Association)
  • Finalist for the Cybils Awards for Middle Grade novel.

Bones (novella published in Asimov’s magazine, May 1990

  • Winner of the World Fantasy Award
  • Nominated for Hugo Award and Nebula Award

The Falling Woman (novel, Tor, 1987)

  • Winner of the Nebula Award
  • Nominated for the Mythopoeic Award

Points of Departure (short story collection, Bantam Spectra, 1990)

  • Winner of the Philip K. Dick Award for best paperback original

Rachel in Love (novelette published in Asimov’s magazine, Apr 1987)

  • Winner of the Nebula Award
  • Winner of the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award
  • Winner of the Locus Awards
  • Winner of the Asimov’s Reader Poll
  • Nominated for the Hugo Award

Awards for Fiction: Nominated Works

An American Childhood (novella published in Asimov’s magazine, Apr 1993)

  • Nominated for the Hugo Award, placed 7th in Locus Awards and Asimov’s magazine reader poll

There and Back Again, by Max Merriwell (novel, Tor, 1999)

  • Winner of the Seiun Award for Japanese translation

The City, Not Long After (novel, Doubleday Foundation, 1990)

  • Short-listed for Arthur C. Clarke Award
  • Nominated for Mythopoeic Award

Dead Men on TV (story in Full Spectrum, edited by Lou Aronica and Shawna McCarthy, Bantam Books, 1988)

  • Nominated for Nebula Award

Love and Sex Among the Invertebrates (story in Alien Sex, edited by Ellen Datlow, Dutton, 1990)

  • Nominated for the Nebula Award

Nadya: The Wolf Chronicles (novel, Tor, 1996)

  • On the honor list for the James Tiptree Jr Memorial Award

Awards for Nonfiction

Star Wars Folded Flyers (Klutz, 2012)

  • Winner of the Parent’s Choice FunStuff Award
  • Winner of the Tillywig Toy Top Fun Award

Klutz Guide to the Galaxy (Klutz, 2011)

  • Winner of the American Institute of Physics Award for Science Writing
  • Winner of the Dr. Toy’s 100 Best Children’s Products Award
  • Winner of the the National Parenting Publications Gold Award
  • Winner of the Good Housekeeping Magazine’s Best Toys of the Year
  • Winner of the Great Schools Golden Apple Award

Make A Mummy, Shrink a Head, and Other Useful Skills (Klutz, 2011)

  • Chosen for the Parent’s Choice Recommended Seal

Invasion of the Bristlebots (Klutz, 2009)

  • Chosen as #1 Top Toy of the Year by Disney’s FamilyFun magazine
  • Selected for Good Housekeeping Magazine’s Best Toys of the Year

Exploratopia (Little, Brown, 2008)

  • Winner of the American Association for the Advancement of Science/Subaru Science Books and Films Prize for Excellence in Science Books

Global Climate Change Research Explorer (Website, 2004)

  • Winner of the Pirelli Award for best environmental education website

Book of Impossible Objects (Klutz, 2012)

  • Winner of a Parents’ Choice Gold Award
  •  Winner of a Family Fun Magazine Boredom Buster Award

The World According to Klutz (Klutz, 2013)

  • Winner of a National Parenting Publications Silver Award
  • Featured as one of top-ten holiday gifts in Family Fun magazine